ViddyHo Mounts Phishing Scam
A site called ViddyHo is running a phishing scam on Google chat users. The scam propagates via an IM from a contact telling the recipient to “check out this video.” When recipients click through, they’re asked to share their Gmail credentials. Then the site IMs the same message to the recipients’ contact list.
Warnings of the scam are all over Twitter, with many stemming from video personality Veronica Belmont, who warned followers after getting many such messages from her contact list. Our own Liz Miller was taken in after receiving a chat from a trusted tech-savvy source, so be careful.
Comments (6)
Linkbacks (2)
-
[...] you get random messages through chat clients or through Twitter that simply say “Check out this video” with a [...]
-
[...] The link appears in the form of http://tinyurl.com/random letters/numbers]. NewTeeVee says the source of the phishing scam is a site called ViddyHo. Mozilla has already flagged ViddyHo.com as “Reported Web Forgery” in their Firefox web [...]
Leave a Reply
Popular
- Tumblr Marriage Proposal: Behind the Scenes of Justin and Marissa's Engagement
- BitTorrent After The Pirate Bay: Do You Still Need Trackers?
- Ten Sites for Free and Legal Torrents
- Nielsen: Facebook Now the No. 3 Video Site
- The Megawoosh Waterslide Viral: How It Was Really Done
- 5 Ways to Test If Your ISP Throttles P2P
Recent
Network
- Get Ready for Flash Player 10.1 to Stream P2P Video to Millions, Swap Files BitTorrent-style [NewTeeVee]
- Green Computing Needs a Data Center Whisperer [GigaOM]
- Pogoplug Updates: Gets File Sync, Extra USB Ports [WebWorkerDaily]
- First Look at Google Chrome OS β Extensions, Options and More [jkOnTheRun]
- 4 Substantial Risks That Google Takes With Chrome OS [OStatic]
- Source Expects Tesla IPO Filing βAny Day,β Tesla Calls it Rumor [Earth2Tech]
© 2009 The GigaOM Network. Marketing consulting by ACS.


OF COURSE: http://mashable.com/2009/02/24/viddyho/?cp=1#comment-11403130
I’m embarrased I fell for it and spread it through the internets long and far… What can I say? I’m a sucker for a good URL like ViddyHo…
Liz Miller sent it to me β when another friend sent me the same URL a few minutes later, I realized something was phishy. I am always very weary of supplying my Gmail password for anything
Schlomo, welcome to the club! The support group meets Friday afternoons. BYOB.
Liz, I’m way ahead of you! Come to this on Tues (and all else who were suckered!): http://twitter.com/Schlomo/statuses/1246912685
Alas, I’m geographically unable! But perhaps I should organize an L.A. equivalent!